Watch two of the UK’s outstanding brass ensembles side-by-side in a varied programme that showcases a world-premiere arrangement of Britten’s Sea Interludes.

Slide Action and Connaught Brass are two young brass ensembles quickly making a name for themselves. Both former Britten Pears Young Artists, they have performed at some of the world’s most renowned chamber-music festivals and have devised this unique programme especially for Summer at Snape.

They weave together charm-filled arrangements of Boulanger and Schubert alongside bombastic original pieces. We finish with a flourish with Britten’s iconic Sea Interludes from Peter Grimes arranged for the combined forces.

Britten (arr. Josh Cirtina):
Prelude to Owen Wingrave
Poulenc (arr. Josh Cirtina):
Quatre petites prières de Saint François d’Assise (10’)
Saskia Apon:
First Trombone Quartet (10’)
Schubert (arr. Josh Cirtina):
Du bist die Ruh', D.776
Mogens Andresen:
Prelude and Reinlendere from Three Norwegian Dances (3’)
Lili Boulanger (arr. William Foster):
Suite from Clairières dans le ciel
Britten (arr. Josh Cirtina):
Four Sea Interludes, from Peter Grimes

Slide Action trombone quartet
Connaught Brass
brass quintet

Four people sitting on a bench with trombones on the floor.

Slide Action

Main photograph of Connaught Brass