An inventive programme of wind quintets, including Bartók, Schumann, Ligeti and Hans Abrahamsen, played by the vibrant Ensemble Renard.

The programme opens with three piano works arranged for wind quintet. The first, Six Bagatelles, is Ligeti's own arrangement of movements from his colourful Musica ricercata for solo piano. Bartók's Six Dances in Bulgarian Rhythm are played in a brand-new arrangement by George Strives, a member of the ensemble.

Schumann's Kinderszenen was arranged by Ligeti's pupil Hans Abrahamsen, whose ‘Walden’ quintet is inspired by the American poet Henry David Thoreau's novel about living in the woods.

Ensemble Renard, Britten Pears Young Artists for 2022-23, carefully curate compelling and contrasting programmes tailored to each audience, showcasing repertoire rarely given the light of day.

Six Bagatelles (13’)
Bartók (arr. George Strivens):
Six Dances in Bulgarian Rhythm from Mikrokosmos (world premiere of this arrangement) (10’)
R. Schumann (arr. Hans Abrahamsen):
Kinderszenen, Op.15 (10’)
Hans Abrahamsen:
Wind Quintet No.2 'Walden' (12’)
Ten Pieces (15’)