Join us for a moving programme of string quartets by Fanny Mendelssohn, Benjamin Britten, and a world premiere by Nathan Williamson, played by the highly acclaimed Heath Quartet.

Fanny Mendelssohn’s bold, complex music is belatedly receiving the attention it merits. Her chamber work reveals the exceptional craft of a composer stifled by the era in which she lived. Nathan Williamson describes his new quartet as “a deeply personal work, juxtaposing consonance and dissonance, darkness and light, tenderness and rage, in a heady cocktail of extremes”. Finally, Britten’s third quartet is an incredibly important work: it was his farewell to the genre, and one of the last pieces he wrote – a fitting moment in the last day of this 74th Aldeburgh Festival.

The Heath Quartet have earned an impressive reputation, winning many awards in their career including the prestigious Royal Philharmonic Society’s Young Artists Award, and the 2017 Limelight Chamber Music Award.

Fanny Mendelssohn:
String Quartet in E flat, H.277 (21’)
Nathan Williamson:
Quartet Black (Britten Pears Arts commission, world premiere) (20’)
String Quartet No.3 in G, Op.94 (28’)
This always was – and still is – a quartet worth travelling a long way to hear

Charles Hutch Press

Photograph Kaupo Kikkas