Prometheus Orchestra's season launches with a programme of music from three of the greatest composers of the 18th century who all had connections with London.

Handel’s Arrival of the Queen of Sheba, from his oratorio Solomon was premiered in London in 1749. He had settled permanently in the city in 1712. Mozart’s Symphony No.1 was written during his only visit to London in 1764-65, when he was eight years old. Haydn’s Symphony No.43 was actually written in 1771, although Haydn spent two periods in London in the early 1790’s and completed 12 London Symphonies during that time.

The city theme is maintained, although the musical era has changed, through Aaron Copland’s Quiet City, written he said, to mirror the angst of the main character in Irwin Shaw’s play of the same name. Holst’s St Paul’s Suite, completes the programme. This was written for the students of St Paul’s Girls’ School in London while he was music master there.

Arrival of the Queen of Sheba
Symphony No. 1 (K.16)
St Paul's Suite
Quiet City
Symphony No. 43

Prometheus Orchestra
Matthew Andrews